Mrs. W. H. Pleasants House
Missouri Pleasants House
Corner of Church St. and Sunset Ave., Louisburg, NC
Satterfield’s building list includes a project for Mrs. W. H. Pleasants, Louisburg. On March 18, 1927, Satterfield wrote to Mrs. Pleasants (Missouri Alston Pleasants) requesting a meeting with her to discuss building her house. Local carpenter William Edens was involved in its construction, and an estimate for materials is addressed to him. A letter of February 14, 1927, from a building supply company in Raleigh to Mrs. Pleasants refers to a Mr. Salter, which may suggest that architect James A. Salter was also involved in the project. A second letter of the same date and authorship concerning the “tapestry” brick reports that the same brick was used in other projects including Mr. A. H. Vann’s house in Franklinton, designed by Salter; a Mr. Dameron’s house in Warrenton, and the Woman’s Club Building in Raleigh. Architectural drawings for the Pleasants house were in existence in Louisburg in 1986 (Charlotte Vestal Brown Papers, Special Collections Research Center, NCSU Libraries).