Hunter and Gordon (1908-ca. 1917)
Hunter and Gordon was a prolific architectural partnership in Charlotte formed in 1908 by architects Leonard L. Hunter, an established practitioner in Charlotte, and Franklin Gordon, who had come to Charlotte from Atlanta. See Hunter’s and Gordon’s entries for fuller accounts and building lists.
- Dates:1912Location:Charlotte, Mecklenburg CountyStreet Address:100 Beatties Ford Rd., Johnson C. Smith University Campus, Charlotte, NCStatus:StandingType:EducationalNote:The library on the historically black college campus features a neoclassical design in brick with terra cotta columns and other details. Contractor Richard N. Hunter was active in Charlotte and vicinity; there is no known familial relationship between L. L. and R. N. Hunter. For fuller information see http://www.cmhpf.org/S&Rs%20Alphabetical%20Order/surveys&rcarnegie.htm.
- Variant Name(s):Grace Covenant ChurchDates:1910Location:Charlotte, Mecklenburg CountyStreet Address:Corner of South Blvd. and East Blvd., Charlotte, NCStatus:StandingType:ReligiousNote:The Charlotte Evening Chronicle of June 11, 1910, reported on the new "classical, colonial" church located in the suburb of Dilworth. The red brick church features a portico of Corinthian columns and an especially fine interior. Famed minister Billy Graham attended this church in his youth. The church is now home to Grace Covenant Church.
- Dates:1915Location:Charlotte, Mecklenburg CountyStreet Address:500 Hermitage Rd., Charlotte, NCStatus:StandingType:ResidentialNote:A landmark of the Myers Park suburb, the grand Tudor Revival residence was built for Southern Power Company (later Duke Power) president E. C. Marshall.
- Dates:1915-1916Location:Charlotte, Mecklenburg CountyStreet Address:821 Harvard Pl., Charlotte, NCStatus:StandingType:ResidentialNote:The picturesque frame residence is one of several houses in Myers Park cited to Hunter and Gordon.
- Dates:1915Location:Charlotte, Mecklenburg CountyStreet Address:E. 5th St., Charlotte, NCStatus:No longer standingType:Health CareNote:The hospital opened on the site between 5th St. and Vail in 1916. A nursing school was added in 1922 (see Michael McInerney).