Palmer, Charles (fl. 1850s)

Birthplace:

USA

Residences:

  • Raleigh, North Carolina

Trades:

  • Brickmason

Styles & Forms:

Gothic Revival; Greek Revival

Charles Palmer (fl. 1850s) was a “brick builder” in Raleigh who claimed 14 or 15 years’ professional experience by 1858 when he was asked to evaluate another builder’s work on a downtown building in the capital. Only two of his own works in the state have been identified. For the W. J. & A. S. Lougee Store (1854) also in downtown Raleigh, Palmer did the brickwork, H. & D. Royster the carpentry, and James Puttick the stonework. Palmer also built St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church (1855-1857), a Gothic Revival brick structure designed by Ecclesiologist architect John W. Priest of Newburg, New York. It appears likely that the minister obtained a published or custom design from Priest, then had Palmer and other builders complete it.

Nothing has been learned of his previous experience or background. There were scores of men named Charles Palmer in the nation in the 1850 and 1860 censuses. He might be the Charles Palmer, 24, identified as a brickmason in Alamance County in the 1850 census. Given his experience, it is likely that Palmer executed other work in the region as yet unidentified.

  • Fentress v. Johnson, Wake County Civil Action Papers, 1858, North Carolina State Archives, Raleigh, North Carolina.
  • North Carolina Standard, various issues.
  • Raleigh Register, various issues.
  • St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church file, State Historic Preservation Office, Raleigh, North Carolina.
Sort Building List by:
  • St. Stephen's Episcopal Church

    Contributors:
    Henry E. Bonitz, architect (1906); James Murray, bricklayer (1855-1857); Charles Palmer, builder (1855-1857); John W. Priest, architect (1855-1857); A. J. Riggs, carpenter (1855-1857)
    Dates:
    1855-1857; 1906 [extension]
    Location:
    Goldsboro, Wayne County
    Street Address:
    200 N. James St., Goldsboro, NC
    Status:
    Standing
    Type:
    Religious
    Note:
    The brick church as completed in 1857 features the narrow pointed-arched windows and exposed truss roof characteristic of the Gothic Revival and the architecturally defined chancel promoted for authentic liturgical practices by the Ecclesiological Society. Wilmington architect Bonitz designed the 1906 extension and the Parish House.

  • W. J. & A. S. Lougee Store

    Contributors:
    Charles Palmer, brickmason; James Puttick, stonemason; D. Royster, carpenter (probably David L. Royster); H. Royster, carpenter
    Dates:
    1854
    Location:
    Raleigh, Wake County
    Street Address:
    100 block Fayetteville St., Raleigh, NC
    Status:
    No longer standing
    Type:
    Commercial

    image/svg+xml Durham Greenville Raleigh ChapelHill Fayetteville Wilmington Winston-Salem Charlotte Asheville Goldsboro Greens-boro Edenton New Bern Salisbury Warren-ton ElizabethCity